Conservation Commission


The Montpelier Conservation Commission (MCC) seeks to strengthen the relationship between people and nature in order to involve residents in the protection and enhancement of the City’s natural environment. The Commission is charged with advising the Planning Commission, City Council, and other city officials on issues concerning Montpelier’s natural resources.

Regular Meetings

The Conservation Commission generally meets on the 3rd Wednesday of every month at 6:30 p.m. in the City Council Chambers of City Hall, 39 Main Street. The Commission may also schedule special meetings, subcommittee meetings, or workshops in addition to its regular schedule.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. Look for them in their respective tabs.


The Conservation Commission consists of 9 regular and 2 alternate members appointed by the City Council for terms ranging from 1 to 4 years. Members include:

Stephanie Hunt
Page Guertin (Treasurer)
Michael Lazorchak
Phyllis Rubenstein
Ben Block
Rose Luzader (Secretary)
Jennifer Leigh Brown
Paul Marangelo
Randi Hacker
Sienna Tuinei (alternative) 

The Conservation Commission would like to recognize Roy Schiff as an ‘emeritus’ member, in acknowledgement of his contributions through the years. 

About the Commission
The Conservation Commission's duties are to carry out the goal of the City Master Plan to "preserve, enhance, and maintain the natural; the integration of built and natural settings; the special areas; and the high level of environmental quality which make Montpelier unique" and to inventory and advise the Planning Commission, the Development Review Board, and the City Council concerning the protection of natural features and environmental quality.